You’re going to love this easy cheesy asparagus recipe! It’s perfect for spring when it’s in season, but let me be honest, I make it all year if the asparagus at the store looks good. My cheesy baked asparagus is made with roasted asparagus, plenty of cheese (obviously!), and Italian seasoning. It’s so simple, but SO delicious! Serve this keto asparagus with cheese as a dinner side dish with glazed keto ham, or with eggs for a nice brunch at home. This keto asparagus with cheese came about as a totally last minute idea. I’ve been in love with all the spring produce popping up as the weather warms up, so I picked up a bag of asparagus spears even before I knew what I’d do with it. (And hey, I figured I could always make my favorite bacon wrapped asparagus if something else didn’t come to mind.) Since I didn’t have a particular dish planned, I had to make do with whatever ingredients I had on hand. All I knew for sure was that I wanted something comforting. Preferably with lots of cheese. 😉 Enter this easy asparagus keto recipe. Like many of my low carb side dish recipes, this one just so happens to be low in carbs, but is so flavorful that the whole family would love it. My kids do! And with only five ingredients, it’s probably one of the simplest ways to prepare asparagus. That makes the best keto asparagus recipe in my book. This baked cheesy asparagus recipe was originally published on May 12, 2017, and was republished in May 2020 to add useful tips.

How To Make Cheesy Asparagus

Is asparagus keto friendly?

Yes, asparagus is keto friendly! Each 1/2 cup of this veggie plain has just 1g net carb. So, you can definitely have asparagus on keto – and I recommend that you do. 😉 This cheesy asparagus recipe has 3g net carbs per serving, partly because of the cheese and partly because a serving is slightly larger than 1/2 cup. It’s hard to measure that kind of serving size when we have our stalks intact in their full length, so I recorded the serving size for just 1/4 of the recipe instead.

How do you trim asparagus?

Simply line up the asparagus pieces parallel to each other and cut off the woody ends. Alternatively, if you want to be sure you’re cutting off the right amount, you can gently bend each stalk until it snaps in half, as the breaking point tends to be exactly where you’d want the woody end removed.

What kind of cheese should I use?

Any kind of cheese you like will work! I used a blend of mozzarella and parmesan. You can also try cheddar, swiss, gruyere, provolone, or pecorino romano. While I used shredded cheese, you can also use cheese slices if that’s what you have on hand.

Is there a way to brown the cheese?

Yep, just place it under the broiler for a minute or two after it’s done.

Cheesy Baked Asparagus Storage Instructions

Can you make it ahead?

This recipe is so fast, that I would recommend baking right before serving. If you’d like to prep things ahead, you can wash and trim asparagus in advance. Then, simply assemble and bake right before eating your asparagus with cheese.

How to store cheesy baked asparagus

If you have leftovers, store them in the fridge for 3-4 days.

Can you freeze cheesy parmesan asparagus?

I would not recommend freezing this cheesy baked asparagus, as the texture of asparagus is not as crisp after freezing. It can get a little soggy. Serve it up fresh!

How to reheat baked asparagus with cheese

Reheat this keto diet asparagus recipe in the microwave or a 350 degree F oven, until hot.

What To Serve With Asparagus

What goes with asparagus? Just about any main dish! Here are some of my favorites:

Crispy Chicken Legs – One of my most popular chicken recipes! Sirloin Steak – Steak and asparagus is a perfect match! If you also want a low carb replacement for the potatoes that often go with this combo, try mashed cauliflower. Keto Chicken Parmesan – The Italian flavors in the chicken match well with the Italian seasoned asparagus. Rosemary Garlic Pork Tenderloin – Again, these Italian flavors are a great combo! And, you can cook some parts in parallel with the cheesy asparagus. No Noodle Lasagna – Pair it with some parmesan asparagus to add some veggies to this meal. Baked Salmon – Salmon and asparagus are often baked on the same pan since their cook times are similar. You can easily coordinate doing that with this cheesy asparagus as well. Baked Tilapia – Another option instead of salmon.

If you need more ideas for what to do with asparagus, try topping it with some Greek yogurt Hollandaise sauce or make air fryer asparagus. And don’t forget bacon wrapped asparagus – my favorite! Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it!