At first, I didn’t fully comprehend (or appropriately respect) the cheesehead fervor. I’d ask a friend to go to a movie on Sunday afternoon, only to be met with a look of disbelief. Didn’t I know that the Packers were playing at the same time as the proposed matinee? And really, what movie theater had the nerve to screen anything other than the Packers at game time anyway? If Ben and I went out to eat during a Packers game, it was common, accepted practice for our server to stop by our table only at commercial breaks; otherwise, she’d be with the rest of the wait staff, watching the game in the restaurant bar. For an errand-running experience with zero traffic and zero cash register line guaranteed, I could go during a Packers’ game. The rest of the state, with the exception of the poor cashiers who stared at me in disbelief for being at the grocery store, was home cheering on the Pack. Flash forward three years into my move to Wisconsin, and I will readily admit that my internal clock has become attuned to the Packers’ kickoff time, quarterback Aaron Rogers is top three on my celebrity crush list, and I wear a Packers sweatshirt every Sunday.

About Loaded Baked Potato Dip

No matter how much or little you care about the game, football offers a premier excuse to gather with friends to unite around core sporting principles: teamwork, sacrifice, and of course FOOD. Enter loaded baked potato dip. No matter how you feel about the old pig skin, you’ll cheer for what’s underneath the potato skin when you taste this recipe.

A blend of creamy potatoes, Greek yogurt, sour cream, and alllllll the right fixin’s (ahem, bacon and cheese please), this decadent appetizer tastes just like the center of loaded twice-baked potato, only creamier and even more addictive.The moment I tasted this dip with its buttery potatoes, sharp gooey cheddar, crunchy thick-cut bacon, and spicy chives, I knew I had a hall-of-fame-worthy appetizer.

Of equal importance are the selected dippers.

No offense to carrot sticks or pita chips, but they are simply not the right choice for this loaded baked potato dip.We need saltiness, big flavor, and a dipper that is sturdy enough to hold up to the loaded baked potato dip’s thick, rich consistency.

My fantasy pick: kettle cooked potato chips. Although potato chips aren’t something I eat with every meal, for any kind of football party, days at the lake, or when I need a salty treat (that’s not these crispy Potato Skins), potato chips hit the spot. (They’re also delicious with this Feta Dip.)

How to Make Warm Loaded Baked Potato Dip

Make this potato dip extra cozy and serve it hot!

More Crowd-Pleasing Appetizer Recipes for Game Day

Jalapeno PoppersTater TotsMozzarella SticksLemon Pepper WingsSlow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Meatballs

So far, this dip has made an appearance at two game watches, and on both occasions, I went home with an empty bowl, and the Packers won. While I can’t directly attribute the win to the loaded baked potato dip per se, I’m still calling it an appetizer victory.

Loaded Baked Potato Dip  Great Game Day Appetizer     WellPlated com - 61Loaded Baked Potato Dip  Great Game Day Appetizer     WellPlated com - 5Loaded Baked Potato Dip  Great Game Day Appetizer     WellPlated com - 82Loaded Baked Potato Dip  Great Game Day Appetizer     WellPlated com - 51Loaded Baked Potato Dip  Great Game Day Appetizer     WellPlated com - 25Loaded Baked Potato Dip  Great Game Day Appetizer     WellPlated com - 97Loaded Baked Potato Dip  Great Game Day Appetizer     WellPlated com - 23