Great crepes are all about getting the batter right. I find that the best and easiest way to make a perfect batter is using a blender. No lumps, no tearing when you flip, with just 10 seconds of whizzing!

It’s a breeze to make crepes if you get the batter right. Too thin, and the crepes tear easily when you flip them. Too thick, then the batter is difficult to swirl around to coat the pan to make thin crepes. The wrong ratio of ingredients, and the crepes come out kind of rubbery (been there, done that…) rather than soft and tender. The other challenge that people have is making a smooth batter. Because the batter is so thin, even if you sift the flour, it can be quite hard to get the lumps out of the batter using a mixer. So this is how I make crepes. I originally sourced the recipe from Cook’s Illustrated then over the years, it evolved with little tweaks here and there. Using a blender, it literally takes 10 seconds to make the batter. Watch and see!

This is another recipe made using my Vitamix blender which has literally transformed my life. I’m still pinching myself that Vitamix asked me to develop recipes for them!! A Vitamix has been on my Wish List for ages, but year after year, Santa failed to deliver….. It’s been wicked fun discovering what a Vitamix can do. Like – did you know you can make breadcrumbs using fresh bread (not toasted) with a Vitamix? Yup! Get those blades whirling, scrunch the bread into a ball then drop it into the Vitamix. And…did you know you can make a béchamel sauce using a Vitamix? Because the blades are so powerful, they actually generate heat so you can make a white sauce that comes out hot and creamy using a Vitamix!!!

Oh! Before I forget – I made these Nutella Crepes with HOMEMADE NUTELLA! Just 5 ingredients – hazelnuts, icing sugar (confectionary sugar), cocoa powder, oil and vanilla. Whizz it up, and this is what you get……

Slather onto the crepes, top with strawberries…..

And this is what you get. Doesn’t it look divine? Just like something you’d get at a bistro. 🙂 The weekend is here!!! I know you’ve been good all week. So you deserve a treat!!! Go on. These Nutella Crepes are calling your name! – Nagi x

 

LIFE OF DOZER

No crepes for you, Dozer! How about a strawberry instead?

This post is brought to you in partnership with Vitamix Australia. I am so honoured to have been selected to partner with such a high quality brand! I was compensated for this recipe, however, if I had not been blown away by my Vitamix Blender, I would have politely declined the offer. Here’s proof how much I love my Vitamix: it has been elevated to the very exclusive status of a permanent position on my kitchen bench. Extremely valuable real estate, reserved for only the very best and most commonly used appliances! – Nagi x SaveSave SaveSave

Nutella Crepes with Strawberries - 48Nutella Crepes with Strawberries - 17Nutella Crepes with Strawberries - 73Nutella Crepes with Strawberries - 84Nutella Crepes with Strawberries - 29Nutella Crepes with Strawberries - 35Nutella Crepes with Strawberries - 49Nutella Crepes with Strawberries - 42Nutella Crepes with Strawberries - 2