If it’s been a while since you’ve had peanut butter and jelly together, let me tell you something right now: it’s even better than you remember. A few weeks ago, a friend brought me some strawberry jam, and I decided to use it for what may be jam’s ultimate purpose: an old school PB and J. HEAVEN. In addition to making me feel like a kid again, I was reminded of the beautiful simplicity of this notorious combo: salty and sweet. Fruity and nutty. Sticky and creamy. Peanut butter and strawberry jam might not be fancy-restaurant worthy (or even unfancy-restaurant worthy), but it’s the kind of well-rounded flavor experience that never ceases to surprise and delight.

Since I still had plenty of my friend’s jam left in my refrigerator, I started to look for other recipes using strawberry jam. I’ve made a few strawberry jam desserts in the past (See: Strawberry Lemon Cream Cheese Bars and Banana Blueberry Bars), but each of those felt more about the other filling ingredients than the jam itself. On the fresh strawberry side, these healthy Strawberry Oatmeal Bars are another favorite strawberry dessert, but I was hungry for something different. Shortbread jam bars crossed my mind as well, but I wanted a dessert that felt a bit more ooey-gooey. The answer to my Strawberry Jam Bars craving: peanut butter!

I sincerely hope that I never feel too old or too “foodie” to enjoy an old-fashioned PB and J, especially when it’s in the form of a jam-stuffed peanut butter cookie bar. In addition to being comforting and nostalgic, these PB and J bars boast modern updates. They are made with white whole wheat flour, which is so light and mild, you’ll never suspect these jam bars are whole grain. The recipe has enough butter to make the bars taste like a true treat, and the rest of the moisture and tenderness comes from nonfat Greek yogurt. Finally, to give the PB and J Bars a “grown-up” edge, I sprinkled the top with roasted, salted peanuts. This last touch gives the bars a bewitching salty-sweetness and extra pop of texture.

Recipe Adaptations

Peanut-Free Strawberry Jam Bars. For a peanut-free version, try swapping the peanut butter and peanuts for almond butter and chopped toasted almonds.Try Another Jam Flavor. You can also use any flavor of jam you love, not just strawberry. I plan to try a blackberry or raspberry and almond version next!To Make Gluten Free. Replace the all-purpose and whole wheat flours with a 1:1 GF all-purpose blend.

As you may suspect, these peanut butter jelly bars taste wonderful snitched right from the container, especially when you should be eating lunch instead. (They are kind of like a sandwich, right?) That said, if you can muster up enough patience, the extra minute you’ll need to warm one up in the microwave and top it with vanilla ice cream will be very, very worth your while. 

8×8-inch baking pan (this one is the best!)Offset spatula (great for spreading jam, frosting, and leveling all kinds of batters too)

Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookie Bars   WellPlated com - 36Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookie Bars   WellPlated com - 58Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookie Bars   WellPlated com - 26Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookie Bars   WellPlated com - 32Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookie Bars   WellPlated com - 14Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookie Bars   WellPlated com - 32Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookie Bars   WellPlated com - 7