This recipe is sponsored by Stella. Eggplant that’s oven roasted until caramelized and tender, then piled high with a bright blue cheese arugula salad and crunchy chickpeas, this dinner-for-one recipe makes for an evening to savor. This dish is tender, meaty (without the meat), bright, creamy, and crunchy. The ingredients are simple, but they combine to become so much more. While I am certainly no stranger to the crackers/cheese/wine dinner plan, I never feel as satisfied at the end of the “meal” as when I take a few extra minutes to prepare something warm and nourishing for myself. I look for recipes that are quick, easy, and light on dishes, but that still feel a little bit gourmet. This roasted eggplant with chickpeas checks every box on my ideal “for me” dinner. The prep is all of five minutes, it’s nourishing, and it makes my night feel special. I pour myself a glass of wine, turn on some background music (because we are all friends here, I’ll admit that it’s usually the “French Café Music” playlist), and then flip through a fun cooking magazine. Add this eggplant to my plate, and I have everything I need for a lovely evening with…moi! In addition to being a stellar, hearty meatless main, this roasted eggplant is an elevated side. I can easily finish a whole batch (the recipe is written for one whole eggplant), but if you are cooking for two or a few, you can easily scale it up to meet your needs.

Key Ingredient Tips to Make Simple Recipes Special

With just a few small tricks, you can take a recipe concept as simple as roasted eggplant and turn it into something truly special.

Use High Impact “Flavor Boosters.” In this recipe, my secret weapon is Stella Crumbled Blue Cheese. Even if you think you don’t like blue cheese, this one is delightful! It’s creamy, not too strong, and gives richness to anything on which you sprinkle it.

Blue cheese is one of my favorite ingredients to add to salads. Because it is so creamy, it coats the greens a little when the salad is tossed, lending them needed richness. It’s also wonderful crumbled over simple baked chicken, sprinkled on roasted veggies (I especially love it on Roasted Brussels Sprouts), or tucked into a quiche. I value Stella cheese in particular, because it’s high quality. When recipes only have a few ingredients, it’s important to make them count, especially when it comes to cheese. Choose wisely and your food will shine.

Don’t Forget the Acid. A touch of an acidic ingredient gives food pop. Here, a splash of red wine vinegar in the salad dressing makes the recipe come to life. Add Some Crunch. Texture is CRITICAL when it comes to any recipe, especially vegetarian ones. The crunchy sautéed chickpeas give the eggplant dimension. They are also HIGHLY addictive. You’ve been warned. Fresh Herbs. Never underestimate their power! I used a blend of parsley and mint because that is what we had on hand. Just about any fresh herb you have lingering in your refrigerator—basil, cilantro, dill, and even tarragon—would be tasty here. I do not recommend dried herbs, as they don’t work as well in fresh recipes like salads.

How to Make This Recipe

Roasting the eggplant in large halves makes this recipe’s prep time next to zero. I also find the fact that you eat the final eggplant with a knife and fork makes this recipe feel like a satisfying main event.

Recipe Step-by-Steps

Make Ahead and Storage Tips

While I can usually polish off both halves (and the whole salad) for a filling vegetarian meal, if you would like to increase the quantity or have leftovers, here are some storage tips:

To Make Ahead. Roast your eggplant halves up to 1 day in advance, and store them in an airtight storage container in the refrigerator. Rewarm just before serving and top with the fresh chickpea arugula mixture. To Store. Place leftover eggplant in an airtight storage container in the refrigerator for up to 4 days. Refrigerate your leftover chickpea arugula salad in a separate airtight storage container for up to 1 day (this salad isn’t ideal leftover, but you can get away with it). To Reheat. Gently rewarm the eggplant on a baking sheet in the oven at 350 degrees F. Top with the salad mixture just before serving. You can also reheat the eggplant in the microwave in a pinch.

Do you have a favorite thing to cook just for you? I’d love to hear your go-tos. As always, if you make this recipe, please comment below to let me know what you think! It makes my day to hear from you. I am sharing this post in partnership with Stella. As always, all opinions are my own. Thanks for supporting the brands and companies that make it possible for me to continue to create quality content for you!

Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 53Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 64Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 42Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 80Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 91Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 39Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 23Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 33Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 30Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 26Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 33Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas and Arugula   WellPlated com - 40