Reflecting on my childhood dinner table behavior, I’d like to remember myself as a demure young lady with tastes beyond her years, who never (EVER) complained about what her mother served, (Mom, are you laughing yet?). The truth is, as a kid, I was a fairly picky eater. Although I’d finish my Roasted Broccoli eventually, dessert bribery was nearly always involved. One of the few vegetables I met with genuine enthusiasm was roasted spaghetti squash (and Crockpot Spaghetti Squash). Sprinkled with cinnamon and brown sugar, I could happily devour an entire baked spaghetti squash and call it a meal. Since then, my love for spaghetti squash has never waivered, only grown to include today’s recipe (and others like these Taco Spaghetti Squash Boats). This roasted spaghetti squash with Parmesan and mushrooms is my childhood Roasted Spaghetti Squash, all grown up (and better than ever).

Originally intended as a side, this baked spaghetti squash recipe is a full meal that can stand on its own. Instead of loading up on sweet brown sugar and cinnamon, I went for a healthier combination of mushrooms, spinach, and garlic.Skip the butter and drizzle on the heart-healthy olive oil.

How to Make Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan Mushrooms

This roasted spaghetti squash with Parmesan mushrooms is easy, delicious, and hands down one of the best meals I’ve made for myself in a long time.

The Ingredients

Spaghetti Squash. Mild, tender, and versatile, you’ll be amazed at what you can do with this delicious little squash (I recommend trying this Spaghetti Squash Lasagna next).Olive Oil. While I won’t deny the perfection that is melted butter on spaghetti squash, for this recipe I went for a drizzle of EVOO. Unlike butter, it contains monounsaturated fats that can help reduce one’s risk for heart disease.Mushrooms. Low on calories, but BIG on flavor and nutrition, you can use any variety of mushrooms you’d like for this recipe. I stuck with affordable and accessible cremini mushrooms. Garlic. Add a little bite and zip. Spinach. For bulk, flavor, and your daily dose of vitamin C, vitamin K, folic acid, iron, and calcium. You could also easily swap for kale or Swiss chard.Parmesan. For just a touch of nutty, cheesy creaminess.Parsley + Thyme. Add color and a blast of herby freshness in every bite.

The Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Place leftovers in an airtight storage container in the refrigerator for up to 5 days.To Reheat. Gently rewarm leftovers in a baking dish in the oven at 350 degrees F until hot. You can also reheat leftovers in the microwave.

So mom, more than 20 years later, the little girl who could eat an entire roasted spaghetti squash for dinner is at it again.

More Spaghetti Squash Recipes

Spaghetti Squash CasseroleSpaghetti Squash Carbonara Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan Mushrooms   WellPlated com - 62Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan Mushrooms   WellPlated com - 15Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan Mushrooms   WellPlated com - 3Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan Mushrooms   WellPlated com - 44Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan Mushrooms   WellPlated com - 10Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan Mushrooms   WellPlated com - 89Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan Mushrooms   WellPlated com - 96Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan Mushrooms   WellPlated com - 1