Super Man had Kryptonite. For Sampson, it was Delilah; and Achilles—someone definitely should have warned him about that heel. As I am neither a comic book hero nor a Greek goddess, I’ve been endowed with not one but with many weaknesses, the most recent of which is this sweet spicy Chex mix recipe. I don’t know what it is about the combination of sweet and savory flavors in this mix (and this Roasted Chickpea Snack Mix), but they give me the insatiable appetite of a teenage boy every single time. I always tell myself I’ll eat just a handful but, within minutes, my fingers are scraping the bottom of the bowl and I’m running to the kitchen to make another batch. It’s a vicious cycle (and the same thing mysteriously happens when I make these Honey Roasted Cashews too).

How to Make Sweet Spicy Chex Mix

I had the most honorable intentions when making this sweet spicy Chex mix. It was to be a wholesome, filling snack mix—a little bit naughty (like this Taco Popcorn), yes, but still a respectable option to tide me over between meals.

The ingredients

Wheat Chex. Sneak in a little fiber.Honey Nut Chex. For just the right amount of sweetness.Pretzels. Add that salty flair that keep you reaching for another bite of this snack mix.Nuts. Choose your favorite combination of nuts. Personally, I went with pecans, almonds, peanuts, and cashews, each offering healthy fats and protein. Egg White. My swap for butter which helps bind the spices to every nook and cranny of the cereal and nuts.Maple Syrup. For a touch of extra sweetness and subtle maple flavor.Spices. A warm, smoky blend of cinnamon, chipotle, chili powder, and cumin give the Chex mix a lingering kick that, when combined with the sweetness of the maple and the honey nut cereal, is too seductive for petite portions.

The Directions

Chex Mix Storage Tips

To Store. Store mix in an airtight storage container at room temperature for up to 2 weeks.To Freeze. Place mix in an airtight freezer-safe storage container in the freezer for up to 3 months. Let thaw at room temperature.

More Scrumptious Snack Recipes

Chocolate Orange Party MixRanch CrackersApple Chips

As I’ve learned, most intimately, keeping a larger amount in the house is a dangerous, dangerous game. If you’d like a larger serving, the recipe can easily be doubled for a crowd. (For a Halloween party, try this Halloween Chex Mix with Candy Corn and Salty Maple Peanuts.)

Sweet Spicy Chex Mix  Easy Snack Recipe    WellPlated com - 56Sweet Spicy Chex Mix  Easy Snack Recipe    WellPlated com - 22Sweet Spicy Chex Mix  Easy Snack Recipe    WellPlated com - 92Sweet Spicy Chex Mix  Easy Snack Recipe    WellPlated com - 15Sweet Spicy Chex Mix  Easy Snack Recipe    WellPlated com - 92Sweet Spicy Chex Mix  Easy Snack Recipe    WellPlated com - 31Sweet Spicy Chex Mix  Easy Snack Recipe    WellPlated com - 8