A great, fresh Vietnamese noodle recipe

Winter in Sydney swings from being warm enough to run around in shorts and play with your dog at the beach, and cold enough to wear ugg boots and maybe, just maybe, turn on the heater. So the food I make ranges from hearty winter stews to fresh summer salads. I grill outdoors all year round, I make soups in summer and salads in winter. I love it! It keeps me on my toes! 🙂

I actually made this because my mother asked me for a recipe. She rarely does, normally it’s the other way around, with me constantly asking her how to make all the delicious Japanese dishes she cooked for us when we were growing up. So when she asked me for my Vietnamese noodle salad recipe, I hopped right to it. After all, even when you’re 30-something, you still do as you’re told, right? I have a chicken version but she was specifically after a prawn (shrimp) version so that’s the one I’m sharing with you today. If you prefer to use chicken, feel free to do so. This salad is a mash up of classic Vietnamese salads like Goi Ga (Vietnamese Chicken Salad with Cabbage) and Vietnamese Noodle Bowls (seriously, if you haven’t tried this before, it’s a must!). I use a salad dressing recipe by Bill Granger who is a great Australian chef. It’s the one he uses for his Vietnamese Chicken Salad which is on the menu of one of his restaurants. I really like serving up salads like this laid out with each of the components separately so people can help themselves and with the dressing on the side. But you can toss it all together if you want. Might be safer if you have a shrimp-pig at the table. 😉 – Nagi

Vietnamese Noodle Salad with Shrimp  Prawn  - 84Vietnamese Noodle Salad with Shrimp  Prawn  - 30Vietnamese Noodle Salad with Shrimp  Prawn  - 64Vietnamese Noodle Salad with Shrimp  Prawn  - 82Vietnamese Noodle Salad with Shrimp  Prawn  - 5